New! The Art of Wild Swimming: Scotland – the ultimate guide

Over the past 12 months, wild swimming has enjoyed a near 300% surge in popularity as waves of new swimmers take the plunge

The Art of Wild Swimming: Scotland is a new book published today (Tuesday, 26 October) to offer novice and experienced swimmers an up-to-date and expert guide to wild swimming in Scotland. 

The book has been written by the authors of Taking the Plunge and For the Love of Trees, Anna Deacon and Vicky Allan (pictured above), who bring together some of the most ivigorating and rewarding wild swim spots around the country.

It’s full of local knowledge, tips and breathtaking photos. From the peaty lochs of the Cairngorms to the rocky coves of Clunes, the title is packed with hidden gems, windswept beaches and perfect ponds – all picked by those who know and love them best.


“The perfect swim is a matter of finding the right place, knowing how to be safe, sourcing the appropriate kit and maybe even finding the nicest spot for a warm-up cuppa and cake afterwards,” says Anna.

“We have been privileged to work with passionate swim enthusiasts across the UK to tap into their knowledge and to select the best wild swimming spots. 

“The Art of Wild Swimming aims to be the ultimate guide as to how to be the safest, most joyous and invigorated wild swimmer you can be – and where to do it.”

Edinburgh at sunrise

The authors are conscious of the dangers of over-tourism in some of the UK’s beauty spots, so the book offers essential information and advice, such as accessing water safely, wild camping dos and don’ts, biosecurity and how best to be a responsible swimmer.

Loch Insh

“Within the book we focus on locations that don’t have too delicate an infrastructure but which offer wild swimmers the brilliant experiences they’re looking for and exciting, unexpected new places to swim,” Anna explains.

Published by Black & White Publishing, The Art of Wild Swimming: Scotland is available to buy from all good bookshops.

The Art of Wild Swimming: England and Wales will be published on November 11.  

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply